in

Ind vs Aus 4th Test: Jaiswal was ‘clearly not out’, says BCCI vice president Rajeev Shukla Today Sports News

Ind vs Aus 4th Test: Jaiswal was ‘clearly not out’, says BCCI vice president Rajeev Shukla Today Sports News

[ad_1]

India’s Yashasvi Jaiswal leaves the field after being dismissed on day five of the fourth cricket Test match between Australia and India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Melbourne on December 30, 2024.
| Photo Credit: AFP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Vice-President Rajeev Shukla feels Yashasvi Jaiswal was “clearly” not out on Day 5 of the fourth Test of the BGT series against Australia in Melbourne on Monday (December 30, 2024).

The decision by the third umpire Sharfuddoula on Yashasvi Jaiswal’s dismissal on the final day of the fourth Test of the BGT series has left the world of cricket divided.

The left-hander argued with the on-field umpires over the decision before walking back.

The controversial moment occurred on the fifth ball of the 71st over when Jaiswal tried to pull the ball away off Australian captain Pat Cummins. Australia appealed for the decision, but the on-field umpired turned them down. Cummins decided to take the decision upstairs, and that’s where the controversial moment happened.

In the replay, the ball seemingly deflected on its way to wicketkeeper Alex Carey, but the snickometer didn’t show any movement when the ball visibly appeared to be deflected off Jaiswal’s gloves. The third umpire felt the visual evidence was enough to deem Jaiswal out and asked the on-field umpire to overturn the decision. BCCI vice-president Rajeev Shukla took to X and stated that the young southpaw was clearly not out. According to him, the third umpire should have had solid reasons to overturn the decision. “Yashaswi jayaswal was clearly not out. Third umpire should have taken note of what technology was suggesting. While over ruling field umpire third umpire should have solid reasons,” Mr. Shukla wrote on X.

‘Clearly out’: Ponting, Taufel

For former Australia captain Ricky Ponting, the decision was clearly out, and there should be no argument about Jaiswal’s dismissal. “They can make of it what they like. That clearly hit the glove.” “As far as I’m concerned, there’s no argument whatsoever.” – Ricky Ponting said during commentary.

Former India all-rounder Irfan Pathan gave his take on the entire incident and said, “There was a deflection but nothing on snicko…”For former India cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin, it was an “Interesting and huge moment.”

“In my view the decision was out. The third umpire did make the correct decision in the end,” Former ICC Elite Panel umpire Simon Taufel told Channel 7.

“With the technology protocols, we do have a hierarchy of redundancy and when the umpire sees a clear deflection off the bat there is no need to go any further and use any other form of technology to prove the case.

“The clear deflection is conclusive evidence. In this particular case what we have seen from the third umpire, is they’ve used a secondary form of technology, which for whatever reason hasn’t shown the same conclusive evidence of audio to back up the clear deflection.

“In the end the third umpire did the right thing and went back to the clear deflection and overturned the umpire field. So, in my view correct decision made,” Taufel added.

Jaiswal’s dissmisal lef India without much hope as the Australians managed to bowl India out and win the 4th Test at the MCG by 185 runs and take a 2-1 lead in the five match series.

The last test will now be played at Sydney.

[ad_2]
Ind vs Aus 4th Test: Jaiswal was ‘clearly not out’, says BCCI vice president Rajeev Shukla

अमर उजाला इम्पैक्ट:हरियाणा में 15 एकड़ में बनेगा अत्याधुनिक नशा मुक्ति केंद्र, विभाग ने प्रस्ताव सरकार को भेजा Chandigarh News Updates

अमर उजाला इम्पैक्ट:हरियाणा में 15 एकड़ में बनेगा अत्याधुनिक नशा मुक्ति केंद्र, विभाग ने प्रस्ताव सरकार को भेजा Chandigarh News Updates

मेलबर्न टेस्ट-विवादित फैसले से यशस्वी आउट:  स्निकोमीटर में गेंद बल्ले से टकराती नहीं दिखी, फिर भी थर्ड अंपायर ने आउट दिया; गावस्कर बोले- गलत डिसीजन Today Sports News

मेलबर्न टेस्ट-विवादित फैसले से यशस्वी आउट: स्निकोमीटर में गेंद बल्ले से टकराती नहीं दिखी, फिर भी थर्ड अंपायर ने आउट दिया; गावस्कर बोले- गलत डिसीजन Today Sports News